6 Salinians to be Inducted to Foundation for Saline Area Schools Hall of Fame

 04/01/2015 - 03:31

The Foundation for Saline Area Schools announced that six people will be inducted to its Hall of Fame this year. Four of the inductees were present at Briarwood Ford Tuesday when the announcement was made. They are Taylor Jacobsen, Marlene Weintraub, Jack Crabtree and Jesse Stevenson.

The Foundation for Saline Area Schools will induct six Salinians into the Hall of Fame.



On March 31, at a year-end celebration at Briarwood Ford, the foundation announced the inductees.

  • Jack Crabtree - Saline Area Schools employee from 1970 - 2005. Teacher, head football coach, (Michigan High School Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame 1998) and  track coach at Saline High School.
  • Taylor Jacobsen - Saline Area Schools employee from 1960 to 2000. Art teacher at Saline High School. Owner of Saline Mills
  • Jim Letcher - Saline Area Schools employee from 1992 - 2014, when he passed away. Special education, kindergarten and reading recovery teacher. 
  • Brynn O'Malley - 1999 Saline High School graduate. Former Saline Fiddler. Current Broadway star.
  • Jesse Stevenson - Saline Area Schools employee from 1993 - 2010.  Teacher, assistant principal and principal (Houghton).
  • Marlene Weintraub - Saline Area Schools employee from 1966 - 2002. English teacher at Saline Middle School.

The inductees will be honored at halftime of the Sept. 25 football game between Saline and Ann Arbor Huron. The induction banquet will be held Sept. 26. Ticket information will be available on the foundation’s website at www.supportfsas.org.

Jacobsen, who graduated from Saline High School and then taught art there for 40 years, said it was an honor to be inducted.

"Some of my favorite colleagues were inducted last year - Clem Corona and Paul Thibault. Thibault and I were pals when we were bachelors and we spent a lot of time running around together," Jacobsen said.

The foundation formed the Hall of Fame last year. The first classs was composed of Clem Corona, Carlee Greene, Cheryl Hoeft, Roy Palmeri, Kay Rayment, Bonnie Rideout, Paul Thibault and Kim Van Hoek. 

To be eligible a person must be one of the following:

  • A Saline High graduate of at least five years earlier.
  • A former faculty, staff member, coach or administrator.
  • An individual who has made exceptional contributions to the Saline Area Schools community.

Inductees must have gained recognition and prominence in their field or endeavor and made noteworthy contributions to that field or in community servic. They must have demonstrated they are a person of integrity and good character and exemplify the principles, philosophy and mission of the Saline School District.

Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore founded The Saline Post on Aug. 15, 2012. Follow him on Twitter at @tranlongmoore. Follow The Saline Post @thesalinepost. Follow The Saline Post on Facebook by clicking here.