Top Saline High School Students Honored at Board of Ed Meeting

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 10/09/2013 - 01:47

A group of Saline High School's brightest students were honored at Tuesday's Board of Education meeting.

Principal Julie Helber and the board recognized National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists, National Merit Commended Students, and students receiving National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar honors. All of the honors are based, at least in part, on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which was taken by about 1.5 million students in the United States.

“I'm honored to be here to celebrate some fantastic achievements by our students,” Helber said. “Parents were already notified by mail. But it's important to recognize the achievements of our students.”

National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars

The National Hispanic Recognition Program identified academically outstanding Hispanic and Latino students. Each year the program honors about 5,000 of the highest scoring 250,000 Hispanic and Latino students who took the PSAT/NMSQT.

Honored from Saline are Samantha Minnette, Javier Taylor and Arthur West.

About 1.5 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2012 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test

National Merit Commended Student Honors

Commended Student honors are awarded to about two-thirds of the top 50,000 students with the highest scores on the PSAT/NMSQT.

Students receiving the Letter of Commendation are Karina Becker, Nirvan Bhattacharyya, Paige Smith, Javier Taylor, and Russell Warila.

Helber noted they were in the 96th percentile of all students.

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

About 16,000 of the top 50,000 highest achievers on PSAT/NMSQT tests are named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists. About 15,000 will go on to become finalists and 8,000 will earn National Merit Scholarships. Besides the monetary assistance, the scholarship is helpful to students trying to gain entry into prestigious post-secondary programs.

Saline's National Merit Scholarship semifinalists are Andrea Blankenship, Brendan Burgess, Carina Fodor, Benjamin Herrick, Mehul Kulkarni, Samuel Ozminkowski, Hannah Qin, Meghana Shankar, Elianna Shwayder and Amelia Wittig.


Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog