Incumbents Win in Pittsfield and Lodi, Lasinski Defeats Fuller in State Rep. Race

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 08/03/2016 - 02:09
Pittsfield Township Supervisor Mandy Grewal survived a challenge from Christina Lirones in the Democratic Primary.

Tuesday was election day in Michigan.

In Pittsfield Township, Supervisor Mandy Grewal won her Democratic Primary Race. She finished with 2282 votes. Challenger Christina Lirones finished with 752 votes.  Treasurer Patricia Scribner (2017) held off a challenge from Felziana Meyer (925). In the Clerk’s race, Michelle Anzaldi finished with 1978 votes to Karen Zera’s 908 votes.

In the Democratic primary for trustee, incumbent Gerald Krone (1611) was elected along with Linda Edwards-Brown (1809), Yameen Jaffer (1530) and George Ralph (1509). Also running were Stacey Washington (980_ Melissa Satti (823), Jane Bassett (929), K. Brown Torrella (563) and Gregory Conner (708). Joan Coxton, Deborah Hoffman, Christopher Loftus, Tanya Padgett and Theresa Tupacz were won races for the Parks Commission. All the Democratic primary winners have a clear path in November in Pittsfield Township.

Saline Township voters finally found a millage they support. The township approved the roads millage renewal by a vote of 169 to 65. There were no contested races in the Republican primary, where Supervisor James Marion, Clerk Kelly Marion, Treasurer Renee Luckhardt and trustees Robert Marion and Robert Prehn advanced. They have no Democratic Party opponents in November.

In Lodi Township Supervisor Jan Godek (375) survived a challenge from Dianne Bragg (184) in the Republican primary.  Clerk Christina Turner and Treasurer Michelle Foley were unopposed. Trustees William Lindemann (428), Donald Rentschler (440) and Craig Swenson (297) also won their races. Jacob Schaible grabbed the fourth spot with 360 votes. Incumbent Barbara Giezentaner (276) was defeated.

All of the Republicans have a clear path in November.

There were no surprises in York Township, where there were no races in the Republican primary. Chuck Tellas, Supervisor, Helen Neill, Clerk, Sally Louis, Treasurer, and Brian Iott, John Hargrove, Dan Pichla and Derek Stern, Trustee, advanced. There are no Democratic Party candidates on the ballot in November.

In the race to replace State Rep. Gretchen Driskell, Donna Lasinski defeated Barbara Fuller, 3,649-3,312. Lasinski will face Republican Randy Clark in the November election. Clark was unchallenged Tuesday. Lasinski will be the favorite in that election.

Saline’s County Commissioner Alicia Ping was not contested in the Republican primary for district three. She faces no opposition in the November general election.

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog