GALLERY: Saline Swim & Dive Debuts in Style

 08/30/2013 - 03:08

The 2013 Saline girls swim and dive team served notice Thursday at the River Rat Relays.

They're not done yet.

Led by seniors Kate Rogers, Serena Yan and Melyssa Aben and sophomores Amelia Armstrong-Grant, Therese Larsen and Allison Eppinga, Saline won six of nine events and took first place at the annual Ann Arbor Huron event.

"I'm happy with the way the girls swam. At an event like this you want to see where everyone stacks up. Our girls showed me they've been working hard all summer and that they're ready to go," said coach Todd Brunty.

Saline began the day by winning the diving event (held earlier in the day). Freshman Amy Stevens and junior Nikki Kermath combined to win the dive relay. Sophomore Miranda Eberle and freshman Cam McPherson settled for ninth -- even though they had the second best score of the event. Stevens' score would have been good enough to win the state meet last year. And both Stevens and Eberle posted individual scores that met the All American Consideration standard.

In the pool, the Hornets started strong, winning three straight events.

Yan, Larsen, Alex McPherson and Melyssa Aben won the 200-yard medley relay. In the 400-yard freestyle relay, Rogers, Eppinga, Kelsey Holmberg and Armstrong-Grant won in 3:36.53. In the 400-yard IM relay, Ariana Brown, Larsen, Yan and Rogers won the race in 4:11.41.

Saline's string of victories came to an end in the 200-yard butterfly relay, where Grant-Armstrong, McPherson, Lisa Gross and Holmberg finished second to Skyline in 1:50.48.

Saline captured the 200-yard backstroke in 1:52.16. Swimming for the Hornets were Sarah Noonan, Eppinga, Aben and Yan.

The Hornets were second in the 800-yard freestyle relay. Grant-Armstrong, Holmberg, Olivia McKelvey and McPherson finished in 8:10.19. The race was won by Skyline.

The 200-yard breast stroke team of Sophie Brightman, Brown, Jenna Miller and Larsen finished fifth.

Saline finished the night with a come-from-behind victorr in the 200-yard freestyle relay. Eppinga, Aben, Samantha Fox and Rogers won the race in 1:40.13. Rogers made up a couple seconds in the final leg of the relay to win the event.

The Lady Hornets won state championships in the 2009 and 2010. They placed second at the state meet in 2011 and third in 2012. Rogers, Yan and Aben are the only remaining Hornets who swam at the state meet when Saline last won in 2010.


Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog