10 Saline High School Students Are National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 02/22/2019 - 03:14
Pictured are Saline's National Merit Scholarship finalists, from left to right, Ruth Sullivan, Nikolai Tolmoff, Leah Abdallah, Ailen Lao, Lia Ahmed-Zaid, Jadon Dester, Erika Chatell, Cameron Tressler, Mrinalini Iyer and Jennifer Kosek,

All 10 of Saline’s National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists have made it through to the finals in the competition for more than $32 million in scholarships which will be offered this spring.

The following students are in the running for the scholarship and the chance to earn the “Merit Scholar” title: Leah Abdallah, Lia Ahmed-Zaid, Erika Chatell, Jadon Dester, Mrinalini Iyer, Jennifer Kosek, Ailen Lao, Ruth Sullivan, Nikolai Tolmoff and Cameron Tressler

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.  The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. To become a Finalist, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. 

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of TheSalinePost.com. He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected]com or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog