Saline High School Debate Team Takes Trophies at Lansing CC

 10/24/2017 - 09:27

On Saturday, Oct. 22, at Lansing Community College, the Saline Debate Team came away with their third consecutive novice (first year) tournament victory and second and fourth place varsity victories. Impressively, the Saline Middle Schoolers debated in the novice division with the high schoolers because there was no separate category for them.

Continuing to debate the resolution as to whether it is in South Korea’s best interest to deploy antimissile systems, the novice teams of Kellan Meloche and Noah Holloway (right) placed first, going undefeated; Sydney Dillon and Paige Haddas were second; and Nishan Bhattacharyya and Max Schneider placed fourth. The varsity team of Jordyn Haerick and Megan Bankowski (left) placed second losing to Cranbrook in the finals but went 5-1 overall, and the team of Ian Greene and Domenik Shehaj placed fourth. 

In addition to the team trophies, speaker trophies are earned when a judge rates each student out of a 30 point scale per debate. At the end of the tournament, the top 10 speakers in varsity and novice are awarded.

Earning speaker awards for the novice debaters, the winners were Dillon (1st), Schneider (3rd), Haddas (4th), Holloway (5th), Alex Healy (7th), 6th grader Sarah Yousif (8th), and Bhattacharyya (9th). For the varsity debate team, speaker award were given to Shehaj (5th), Haerick (6th), Greene (7th), Bankowski (9th), and Sabrina Stock (10th).

The Debate Team competes next on Saturday, Oct. 28 in the Groves Falcon Invitational.


Saline Post Staff's picture
The Saline Post
Sign up for The Saline Post, start posting and reach thousands of Salinians each day. It's free and you can start at

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog