Gallery: Saline Track Teams Beat Monroe

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 04/26/2017 - 03:00
Saline senior Skyler Hardt won the pole vault by clearing 9 feet.

The Saline boys remained unbeaten in the SEC and the Saline girls won their first league dual meet of the season Tuesday.

On the boys’ side, Saline defeated Monroe 81-56. On the girls’ side, Saline won 88-49.

Senior Sean Duffy continued to own the 200 meters race. He ran a personal best 22.14 and needed almost all of it to defeat Monroe’s Donovan Isaac (22.20). Saline sophomore Winford Walker (23.09) was third.

Duffy also won the 400 meters in a time of 49.35. Walker was fourth in 42.16.

Saline junior Anthony DeKraker won again in the 800 meters (1:58.09). DeKraker led a six-man Saline crew over the finish line. Spencer Leslie (2:00.34) was second and Aidan Carichner (2:01.29) was third. Derek Liemohn, Ryan Yaklin and Toby Mepham finished fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.

Sophomore Jevin Nishioka ran a season-best 4:35.46 to win the 1600 meters. William Downey (4:36.81) was second and Evan Koerschner (4:39.31) was third.

In the hurdles, it was a familiar story. Jameson Swanson won the 110 hurdles in a personal best 14.7 seconds, .1 seconds faster than Monroe’s Tyson Grant. Josiah Rentschler won the 300 hurdles in 41.93 seconds, .14 seconds faster than Grant. Ryan Farr was third in 43.99 seconds.

In the 100 meters, Monroe’s Donovan Isaac won in 10.92 seconds. Grant was second in 11.13 seconds -- .01 seconds faster than Saline senior Robbie Felton. Freshman  Dhruv Talekar was fifth in 11.56 seconds and Connor Hibbard was sixth in 11.67 seconds.

Monroe’s Matthew Parran won the 3200 in 10:02.65. Saline’s Joshua Cook was second (10:08.12) and Simon Pfeiffer was third (10:16.39).

Saline won the 4-by-800 relay, the 4-by-400 relay, and the 4-by-200 relay. Monroe won the 4-by-100 relay.

In the field, Nathan Powers won the discus with a throw of 130-06. Alex Lampman was third (107-07). Eric Harris won the pole vault by clearing 14-06. Kyle Nouhan was second (13-00).

Freshman Kyle Greenwood leaped 19-01 to finish second in long jump. CJ Gildersleeve was second in the shot put (44-08) and Bennet Drake was third (43-05).

On the girls’ side, Saline’s youth continue to make big strides.

Sophomore Kayla Fortino won the 1600 and 3200 meter races. She won the 1600 in 5:26.57. Rebecca Cantrell was third in 5:32.43. In the 3200, Fortino won in 11:55.14. Juliana Romero was second in 12:18.73 and Nicole Dillman was third in 12:21.56.

Freshman Emily Cook was also a double winner. She won the 100 meter hurdles in 16:32. Ellery Hatopp was second in 17:48. Cook won the 300 meter hurdles in 50.24. Anna Laird was second in 54.53 and Molly Finegan was third in 54.93.

Freshman Lauryn Hunt was a double winner. She won the 200 meters in 26.77 seconds -- .02 seconds faster than Monroe junior 26.79. Senior Andrea Luurtsema was third in 27.85. Hunt also won the 400 meters, finishing in 1:01.20.

Freshman Boyd Amera was second in the 100 in 13:02. Luurtsema was third (13.10). Rebecca Cantrell was second in the 800 (2:27.82) and Ella Woehlke was third (2:29.75).

Saline won the 4-by-200 relay, the 4-by-400 relay and the 4-by-800 relay.

In the field, Sloane Pepper won the high jump by clearing 4-09. Averi Strok was third (4-04). Senior Skyler Hardt won the pole vault by clearing 9-00. Elise Renberg cleared 8-00 and Charlotte Peterson cleared 7-06.

Pepper was Saline’s best long jumper. She finished third (15-01.25).

Averi Strok was Saline’s best in the shot put, finishing second with a throw of 30-02. Alexa Fansler was Saline’s best in the discus, taking second with a throw of 94-02.

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog