Swim & Dive: Saline Beats Bedford on Senior Night

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 10/26/2019 - 02:02

On a night when the team honored the class of 2020, the Saline girls swim and dive squad bested Bedford, 140-43.

After the diving portion of the meet, Saline’s seniors walked through the natatorium with their families. The class of 2020 is composed of Jane Altevogt, Morgan Comfort, Grace Edwards, Paige Gidley, Emma Loveland, Madison Miller and Megan Mulligan.

“I thought it was a great night for the seniors to end their career here at home,” Saline head coach Todd Brunty said. “I’m really proud of them and all the time and effort they’ve put into this program over the years. So it’s nice to be able to take a night and celebrate them.”

The Hornets had no problem swimming past Bedford.

Saline won all but three events.

Johanna Ehrman, Emma Loveland, Courtney Marsh and Bella Arbaugh won the 200-medley relay in 1:53.17 - just .05 seconds faster than the team of Amelia Hayes, Megan Socha, Samantha Graden and Sam Bullard. Allison Ploutz-Snyder won the 200-yard freestyle in 2:03.05. Elizabeth Burchart was second in 2:07.44. In the 200-yard IM, Graden took first place in 2:16.45 - leading a 1-2-3-4 finish for the Hornets. Marsh, Socha and Altevogt followed.

Bedford freshman Lindy Schultz won the 50-yard freestyle in 25.36. Bella Arbaught was second in 25.47. Anna Bosinger and Emma Loveland followed.

Megan Mulligan won the diving with a score of 276.35, leading a 1-2-3 finish for Saline seniors. Paige Gidley (220.75) and Morgan Comfort (168.10) also picked up points for Saline.

Ehrman won the 100-yard butterfly in 1:02.08. She was followed in by Hornets Sam Bullard, Amelia Hayes and Caroline Klein.

Arbaugh picked up the win in the 100-yard freestyle, completing the race in 54.73. Soca (2nd, 55.2) and Burchart (3rd, 59.5) also earned points for Saline. Kiersten Russell won the 500-yard freestyle in 5:11.83 - good for a state cut. Bosinger, Ploutz-Snydder and Izzy Whalen  gave Saline a sweep of the top four spots.

Bosinger, Socha, Arbaugh and Russell won the 200-yard freestyle in 1:42.91.

Bedford’s Schultz won the 100-yard backstroke, defeating Ehrman by .09 seconds. Ehrman’s time of 1:00.10 was still good for a state cut. Loveland was third in 1:03.76.

The loudest cheer of the night came when senior Madison Miller earned her state cut while winning the 100-yard breaststroke in 1:08.62. Hayes and Marsh finished behind her.

The relay team of Russell, Ploutz-Snyder, Ehrman and Loveland won the 400-yard relay.


Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of TheSalinePost.com. He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog