Swim & Dive: Saline Defeats Tecumseh, Pinckney

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 10/04/2019 - 14:33

Saline defeated a couple of SEC White opponents in a tri-meet Thursday at Saline High School.

The Hornets defeated Tecumseh, 130-55, and Pinckney, 152-30. Saline went three-for-three in the relay events to propel the team to victory.

The night began with Kiersten Russell, Emma Loveland, Samantha Graden and Caroline Klein winning the 200-medley relay in 1:52.4. Allison Snyder-Ploutz, Madison Miller, Courtney Marsh and Megan Socha finished third in 1:55.97.

Freshman Bella Arbaugh won the 200-yard freestyle in 1:56.97 - leading a 1-2-3-4 finish for the Hornets. She was followed in by Amelia Hayes, Anna Bosinger, and Johanna Ehrman.

Russell, a junior, won the 200 IM in 2:12.26. Loveland and Graden finished third and fourth.
Tecumseh's Julianne Lore won the 50-yard freestyle. Miller placed second and Caroline Klein was third.

In one-meter diving, Megan Mulligan won with a score of 245.2, leading a 1-2-3-4 finish for Saline. Elice English, 226.95, Gabby Richards, 213.05, and Paige Gildley, 205.15, followed.

Tecumseh's Emily Solarski won the 100 butterfly in 58.84. Graden was second in a D1-qualifying time of 59.77. Bosinger, Marsh and Ploutz-Snyder followed. Tecumseh's Lore won her second event in the 100-yard freestyle, finishing in 56.2. Socha and Klein followed for Saline.

Arbaugh's second individual victory came in the 500-yard freestyle, which she won in 5:18.8. Elizabeth Burchart was second in 5:30.92.

Bosinger, Sam Bullard, Jillian Bradin and Klein won the 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:46.6. Jane Altevoght, Katie Warren, Marie Merlos-Fernandez and Miranda Stanish were third.

Hayes, a sophomore, won the 100-yard backstroke in a D1-qualifying time of 57.88. Russell, a junior, was second with a D1-qualifying time of 59.88. Ehrman placed third.

Loveland, a senior, won the 100-yard breaststroke in 106.95 - another D1-qualifying time. Miller and Marsh placed second and third. 

Saline concluded the evening by taking first in the 400-yard freestyle relay.  Arbaugh, Ehrman, Hayes and Russell won in 3:41.38 - besting the D1 standard. Bosinger, Graden, Socha and Loveland were third in 3:46.72.

(Photos not large enough? Download full-resolution images or order prints by clicking here.)

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of TheSalinePost.com. He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog