Swim & Dive: Saline Picks Up 3 SEC Wins

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 01/17/2020 - 17:56

The Saline boys swim and dive team earned three SEC wins in their home-opening meet Thursday. Saline edged Dexter, 94-91, and defeated Monroe, 150-30, and Ypsilanti, 153-18.

The Hornets were led by Cooper Osgood and Ethan Saunders, who each won two events.

The meet began with Dexter winning the 200-yard medley relay. Saunders, Joshua Brunty, Osgood and Blake Coy were second in 1:43.41.

Dexter's Paul Schaefer won the 200-yard freestyle.  Thomas Walsh, Nick Huetteman and Alex Melnyk placed third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Osgood earned Saline's first victory of the night in the 200-yard IM, which he swam in 2:03.3. Andre Beduschi was third and Andrew Steele was fifth. Saunders won the 50-yard free style in 21.7, earning a state cut. Brunty placed fifth.

Cole Warren, of Dexter, won the diving event with a score of 256.3. Saline then took the next four spots. Preston Johnson-Turner (234.5), Josh Birch (160.3), Jason Heisler (153.4) and Cameron Corwin (145.65) all finished in the top five.

Osgood's second victory came in the 100-yard butterfly, which he swam in 54.55. Beduschi (57.9) finished second and Ishaan Mendratta finished fifth.

Dexter's Luke Sayler (49.63) and Leo Varitek went 1-2 in the 100-yard freestyle. Evan Steele (54.15), Alex Melnyk and Liam Russell followed them to the finish line.

Saunders' second win came in the 500-freestyle, which he swam in another state-cut time of 4:46.65. Ethan Gerber (5:15) was third and Huetteman (5:17) was fifth.

Dexter took the 200-yard freestyle relay in 1:31.02. Osgood, Beduschi, Gerberg and Saunders were second.

Dexter's Zach Norris won the backstroke in 56.95. Thomas Walsh (58.0) was second, Evan Steele was fourth and Andrew Steele was fifth.

Dexter's Tanner Sharpe (1:00.34) edged Brunty (1:00.87) in the breaststroke as both swimmers posted D1 state cut times. Andrew Fruth was fifth.

Dexter completed its sweep of the relays by winning the 400-yard freestyle relay. Huetteman, Walsh, Brunty and Mendiratta placed second for Saline.

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of TheSalinePost.com. He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog