SWIM & DIVE: Saline Picks Up AN SEC Win Against Monroe

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 02/01/2019 - 18:33

The Saline swim and dive’s training routine has suffered with the spate of snow days and cold days, but that didn’t stop the Hornets from a 139-47 win over Monroe Thursday.

Saline won all but two events. Sophomore Ethan Saunders won the 100 and 200-yard freestyles and also helped the 200 and 400-yard freestyle relay teams to victory to lead the Hornets.

“It’s been a tough stretch. You come return from the holidays and it’s supposed to be the time when you grind it out. All this weather has made for optional practices, and it’s tough get your training in,” coach Todd Brunty said. “But we had a lot of kids have a real strong meet today. It was a good night for us.”

Saline opened with Cole Nelson, Joshua Brunty, Cooper Osgood and Joshua Willwerth winning the 200-yard medley relay in 1:42.86. Saunders took the 200-yard freestyle in 1:46.95 and was followed in by Hornets Blake Coy and Joshua Mahaney. Sophomore Thomas Walsh won the 200-yard IM in 2:09.81 and was followed by Cooper Hosgood and Ishaan Mendiratta.

Monroe’s Florian Lenhard won the 50-yard freestyle. Willwerth and Nelson were second and third, respectively.

Jason Heisler won the one-meter diving event with a score of 2:01.35. Joshua Birch was third at 168.4 and Cameron Corwin was fourth at 1:35.8.

Mahaney won the 100-yard butterfly in the D1 state-cut time of 53.57. Osgood, Walsh and Mendiratta followed to give the Hornets a sweep of the top four spots.

Saunders finished first in the 100-yard freestyle in 48.18. Coy was third in 50.43.

Nicholas Huetteman won the 500-yard freestyle in 5:09.20 – as the Hornets again swept the top four spots. Ethan Gerber, Evan Steele and Nicholas McManama finished second, third and fourth.

Nelson won the 100-yard backstroke in 58.21. Henry Han was second in 1:01.07.

Monroe’s Lenhard won his second event in the 100-yard backstroke. Willwerth was second and Nathaniel Washburn was second, in 1:12.33.

Saunders, Mahaney, Coy and Nelson closed the night by winning the 400-yard freestyle in 3:28.24.

Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of TheSalinePost.com. He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog