Saline High School's Top Students Honored at Board Meeting

 03/23/2016 - 00:35

Saline High Schools National Merit Scholarship finalists and Commended Scholars were honored at the March 8 Board of Education meeting.

Saline High School’s top students were recently honored at the Board of Education meeting.

On March 8, Principal Julie Helber introduced the National Merit Scholarship finalists and Commended Scholars to the Board of Education.

There are about 1.5 million juniors in 22,000 high schools who enter the National Merit Scholarship Program each year by taking the SAT.

Out of the 1.5 million, 16,000 are semifinalists and 15,000 are finalists for the National Merit Scholarship. All of Saline’s semifinalists produced the required work and were able to make it through to the round of finalists.

Saline’s finalists are Ayush Arora, Victoria Black, Brian Blankenship, Noah Duncan, Kathryn Gilbert, Mitchell Hansen, Stephen Jasina, Rohan Kulkarni, Matthew Lougheed, Aditya Mannari and Julia Smith.

About half of the 15,000 finalists will be selected for the scholarship.

The top five percent of the 1.5 million students who took the test are selected as Commend Scholars.

The Commended Scholars are Christopher Combs, Cora Hassberger, Dowon Kim, Ian Kwant, Therese Larson, John McMorris and Lillian Minnette.



Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore founded The Saline Post on Aug. 15, 2012. Follow him on Twitter at @tranlongmoore. Follow The Saline Post @thesalinepost. Follow The Saline Post on Facebook by clicking here.