Saline High School Drama Club Presents Newsies, Feb. 28-March 1

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 02/18/2020 - 12:54


The Saline High School Drama Club presents Disney’s Newsies, Feb. 28 to March 1. Set in turn-of-the century New York City, Newsies is the rousing tale of Jack Kelly, a charismatic newsboy and leader of a band of teenaged "newsies." When titans of publishing raise distribution prices at the newsboys’ expense, Jack rallies newsies from across the city to strike against the unfair conditions and fight for what's right!

Based on the 1992 motion picture and inspired by a true story, Newsies features a Tony Award-winning score by Alan Menken (Little Shop of Horrors, Sister Act) and Jack Feldman and a book by Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein (Kinky Boots). Featuring the now classic songs “Carrying the Banner,” “Seize the Day,” and “Santa Fe,” Newsies is packed with non-stop thrills and a timeless message, perfect for the whole family and every audience.

Performances are Friday, February 28th and Saturday, February 29th at 7:30 PM and Sunday, March 1st at 2:00 PM at Saline High School's Ellen A. Ewing Performing Arts Center.  Tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for students and seniors over 65+ and are general admission. Tickets can be bought online (with a processing fee) at or at the door. 

Saturday night's performance continues the Drama Club's annual tradition of teaming up with the award-winning SWWC Culinary Arts program for a pre-show dinner.  Seating for the dinner begins at 6:00 pm.  Tickets for the Dinner Theater Package are a $25 for adults and $20 for students/seniors and include dinner and seating in a reserved section for the show that night. The menu includes New York strip steak, baked potato, glazed carrots, and NY-style cheesecake. Tickets for the dinner can only be purchased online and must be purchased by Feb 26th. Seating for the dinner theater is limited and tickets often sell out before the deadline.

The cast includes:

Conner Allen, Maxwell Bauer, Lauren Bryant, Sarah Burgess, Holden Collins, Liz Colson, Claudia Curcione, Sophie Delfuoco, Samantha Dobrowolski, Sam Erwin, Erik Firehammer, Ian Fletcher, Sydney Friedman, Shelby Gill, Cristina Gonzalez, John Harrell, Katie Holmes, Brynna Householder, Ben Isaacson, Luke Johnson, Quin Johnson, Austin Kahn. Ben Keith, Trevor Kudlak, Eliza Larsen, Carmen Lauchu, Ian Lebert, Delia Leon, Daniel Mahaney, Ella Marsh, Jayden Means, Alayna Musson, Caroline Pangilinan, Grace Prisby, Margie Raupp, Mikey Rodriguez, Kimberly Schamberger, Maya Scott, Miranda Stanish, Cael Sutherland, Willow Symonds, Emma Terris, Ava VerLee, Collin Wagner, Gabe Walkowiak, Wesley Welt, Madison Williams, and Joseph Yonemori. Student directors are Courtney Pellerin, Elizabeth Solis, and Hannah Weatherly. Artistic staff includes: artistic director Rebecca Groeb, producer Kristen Glatz, vocal director Anya Freedman-Doan, choreographer Lisa Holland, and orchestra pit director Scot Cannell.  

For more information go to or email [email protected], or call 734-401-4644.

Saline Post Press Releases's picture
Saline Post Press Releases
The Saline Post will runs news releases submitted by local organizations and businesses.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog