SWIM & DIVE: Hornets Battle Pioneers at Home

Local News Needs Your Support

Donation Options

 09/27/2018 - 16:54
Johanna Jorgenson dives into the pool in the 100 yard freestyle, which she won.

Pioneer edged Saline, 94.5 to 91.5, in varsity swim and dive action at Saline Tuesday.

Saline won two of the three relays and five out of the eight swimming events.

Senior Maddie Luther and junior Johanna Jorgenson led the Hornets. Luther won the 200-yard freestyle in 1:53.46 and the 500-yard freestyle in 5:03.68. Jorgenson captured the 100-yard freestyle in 51.62 seconds and the 50-yard free-style in 23.92 seconds. Saline’s other winner was freshman Amelia Hayes, who qualified for the state meet when she won the 100-yard backstroke in 58.49 seconds.

Pioneer’s winners included freshman Lily Cramer (100 breaststroke), freshman Lindsay Orringer-Hau (100 butterfly) and freshman Edwina Jalet (200 IM).

Saline opened the day by winning the 200-medley relay. Amelia Hayes, Emma Loveland, Anna Bosinger and Jorgenson won the race in 1:48.55.

In the 200 freestyle, Luther won by more than four seconds. Freshman Johanna Ehrman was fourth in 2:01.82.

Pioneer’s Jalet won the 200 IM. Sophomore Kirsten Russel finished third with a state cut time of 2:13.3. Hayes was right behind her in 2:14.71.

Jorgenson won the 50 in 23.92 as three swimmers swam state qualifying times. Emily Laing was fifth in 25.76.

Alex Mercier, a Pioneer freshman, won the diving event with a score of 212.3. Saline’s Paige Gidley, 194.65, was second. Sarah Densham was third in 183.45. Gabriella Richards was fourth at 180.55 and Emily Marvin was fifth at 174.9.

In the 100-yard butterfly, Orringer-Hau won the butterfly in 59.4. Paige Wilson was third in 1:00.57. Bosinger was fourth and Allison Ploutz-Snyder was fifth.

Jorgenson won the 100-yard freestyle by nearly three seconds, in 51.62. Laing was third in 55.36 and Riley Jones was fifth at 56.8.

Luther won the 500-meter freestyle in 5:03.88 in nearly nine seconds. Ehrman was fourth in 5:24.13 and Kelsey Robinson was fifth in 5:24.7.

Pioneer won the 200 freestyle relay.

Hayes won the 100-yard backstroke in 58.49. She was followed by Kirsten Russel, who earned her state cut in 58.85. Jones was fifth in 1:04.09.

Pioneer’s Cramer won the 100-yard breaststroke in 1:06.62. Emma Loveland was third in 1:07.73. Madison Miller was fourth in 1:10.2.

Saline closed the day by winning the 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:41.53. Luther, Bosinger, Russell and Hayes swam for Saline.


Tran Longmoore's picture
Tran Longmoore
Tran Longmoore is a veteran community journalist. He is founder and owner of TheSalinePost.com. He is co-publisher of The Saline Post weekly newspaper. Email him at [email protected] or call him at 734-272-6294.

Follow the author on         or visit   Personal Blog